30 Years of Art & Design

An Out There Anniversary

2024 marks 30 years of presence in the Art & Design arena.

I literally have NO idea when this happened.

I haven’t been much enamoured with my job in the past years – maybe covid (and its overall destructive effect) had something to do with it, maybe I am not happy with the general state of affairs of the art sector, maybe I just don’t have the time and energy to devote to it any more – no matter. I have been feeling an intense “make way for the young ones” vibe. But with the opportunity of the anniversary – which artfully coincided with the sale of my old studio – something shifted. Without meaning to, I got to revisit my “itinerary”, map the trajectory, rediscover, rekindle. Remember it has been a hell of a ride. And this energised me massively. Like an old spark suddenly coming alight anew.

A lot happened during these 3 decades. Successes, failures, experiments, lessons, new beginnings, new endings, I built and demolished – a bit of everything. Crucially, I became The Real Queen of Stuff.

But 30 years is a huge amount of time. Especially when you feel less than 30 years old yourself. And when you have a list of things to do that need another 30 years to materialise! So, despite the excitement, I am not 100% sure on how to handle this. Contradictory forces (burn the house down, set everything on fire, organise 12 back to back events and 52 happenings in between_ _ NO, just sit back, do nothing and enjoy the view from this vantage point) are dancing inside my head, in a perpetual embrace that is creating a special kind of noise of its own. On a good day you might choose to call it music.

Now what?

Now a proper celebration is in order!

I have created a web page dedicated to the grand anniversary. For starters it features a quick but thorough photographic timeline of my career, some thoughts, news and the video of my TedX talk. The property is not fully furnished yet – you need to keep coming back for it. Behind the scenes, old favourites & new darlings, as well as exclusives & info on upcoming projects will all feature there, to be shared with whoever wants in.

Visit here if you care to follow the journey.

Images © The Real Queen of Stuff

Follow your queen on Instagram

Talk to me!