The London Lights

In anticipation of a fab New Year

Country-hopping and drastic changes in circumstances during the past month has left little time, and even less desire, to write things down. A personal bummer really, when there is so much to be told. This mood has not changed but, before it becomes completely irrelevant, I wanted to share a bit of magic that I recently experienced, something that lit me up and made me feel super-pumped for the year ahead.

john-lewis-london-alexandra-kollaros
Classic Oxford Street extravaganza

In the beginning of December I found myself in London – my all-time favourite city and feel-good destination of choice. It is no secret that London is unsurpassed when it comes to Christmas Lights & Decorations (at least for those subscribing to the European aesthetic) and this year was no exception.

house-of-fraser-london-alexandra-kollaros
Beautiful House of Fraser

Walking around the streets, immersing myself in the extravagant beauty of the decorations, was a unique emotional experience. It generated a dozen positive feelings but most of all it made me feel 100% present and appreciative of now. A feeling of pure happiness.

There is no need to elaborate further –  the message is in the images.

debenhams-london-alexandra-kollaros.jpg
Fairy-tale atmosphere all over

In anticipation of the New Year now… I have no idea what it is going to bring. I hear so much complaining about 2016, so many people emphatically waving it good riddance but I beg to differ. Despite its rocky undertone, this year brought so much into my life that I almost hate to see it go.

selfridges-xmas-london-alexandra-kollaros
Out-lighting everyone, Selfridges has to be my favourite display

I am grateful for the army of new, beautiful people I came to meet, the fantastic places I got to visit, the feelings that I experienced and the opportunity to come face to face with myself in a way that has not been possible before. Every aspect of my life was enriched and I grew in unexpected ways. I even love the bad things the year brought, because ultimately they led to more growth.

marks and spencer-london-alexandra-kollaros.jpg
Hello there!

How can I not love 2016 and how can I not be anxious about 2017, having to fill such big shoes?

oxford-street-london-alexandra-kollaros
The “Little Stars” campaign

Phone rings. Predicted interruption, New Year’s eve afternoon drinks in Athens – a revered tradition. Can’t say no to that.

oxford-street-xmas-london-alexandra-kollaros.jpg
I love you London

And now… several drinks later, confessional mode has gone south and available time likewise, but I will not have this post 100% compromised because of mere change in circumstances. That’s illustrative of how things are really: everything changes, from one second to the other, you really can’t take anything to the bank.

regent-street-london-alexandra-kollaros.jpg
“The Spirit of Christmas” light installation at Regent Street

Having completely lost the initial thread, I just want to make a wish, that the New Year brings only good things to us all. Personally, I want it to let me continue on the path I have been carving, continue to be true to myself and others and pursue fulfillment the way I understand it.

regent-street-london-xmas-alexandra-kollaros.jpg
Some 300.000 LEDS were used to produce this specific type of magic

A message to the people in my “circles”: We do not bite, we overcome all problems, we work towards being a better version of ourselves, we create our own future and we are responsible for our happiness (or otherwise). And what is worth standing the test of time will – the rest is b%llox.

regent-street-underground-london-alexandra-kollaros.jpg
Oxford Circus Tube at night

What I’d really like to happen in 2017 is for everyone to stop being constipated, stop all the self-delusion and take things as they come, assess them at face value. I am confident this would lead to great comfort for everyone and I am Hopeful it will. Wine may be a determining factor of this being the bottom-line but so be it.

grosvernor-square-xmas-london-alexandra-kollaros-jpg
Festive & elegant in Grosvenor Square

I am not sure I have said all I was meaning to say and, at the end of the day (and year!) it doesn’t even matter.

carnaby-street-xmas-london-alexandra-kollaros
Fab as always, Carnaby Street

A Happy New Year and warm thoughts to all ❤

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow lovely post and great photos! I love the London Lights 🙂

    Emily x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Emily! Your blog rocks too

      Like

  2. mirandavoice says:

    I have shared the link of this post in my Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/MyOfficialDiary/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Miranda ❤ – I ll go like asap 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. jmacindoe says:

    Great shots and post!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you so much for sharing with this Brit.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. In this case I am double happy you liked it Susie! Happy New Year 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  5. yhealthy2000 says:

    Beautiful pictures! Thanks for sharing. Really enjoyed.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So glad! Happy New Year ☺

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Ivy iris says:

    Aww great post Alex. I didn’t get a chance to make it down to see the light but I am envious after seeing your photos. Thanks for sharing xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was so beautiful it had to be shared! I am so happy you enjoyed it Iris – happy New Year 😉

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Ivy iris says:

      Happy new year xx

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me!

