Cauliflower Steak

I just tried this and it rocks.

I wasn’t looking for it, obviously. Amidst an erratic clean-eating bout, I bought a cauliflower to benefit from its high nutritional value and low calorie count. At the same time it seemed like a decent opportunity to further my culinary repertoire. While assessing¬† my options “Three Things to Do with a Cauliflower Before you Die” caught my eye; The Food Busker not only knows his recipes but how to attract attention as well.

The level of ease (close to zero effort & time) and the incredulity of the claim (a cauliflower steak!) lured me to try it, mostly in order to formally dismiss it. I couldn’t have been more wrong.

The recipe is apocalyptic: Minimal calories, maximum taste, nutritionally supercharged and as budget-friendly as they come.

Without further ado, here is how to make Cauliflower Steak:
(out of my enthusiasm to share I may have been a bit sloppy – if in doubt, find the link to the original video at the bottom)

cauliflower-steak-alexandra-kollaros.jpg

Slice your steak by attacking the middle of a cauliflower, getting rid of the leaves at the bottom. Thickness should be about 1.5 cm. Heat 2 tablespoons of olive oil in a pan and throw in the “steak”, leaving to caramelize on each side (a couple of minutes will do). Remove from pan and place in the oven (170C / 325F) for 15 minutes.

cauliflower-steak-sauce-preparation-alexandra-kollaros.jpg

Meanwhile prepare your sauce. Finely slice some red onion, garlic, red chilly (I added a red pepper as well), add chopped parsley, capers & a lug of oil and mix well (next time I will try mashing it a bit more).

Simply serve with the steak.

cauliflower-steak-sauce-alexandra-kollaros.jpg

The Food Busker is very casual in his mention of the sauce but it is worth noting that it is the recipe’s changemaker. It has a sharp, savoury and lively bite that takes the cauli steak’s¬†earthly taste to the next level (gourmet alert!).

cauliflower-steak-with-sauce-alexandra-kollaros.jpg

The plate was so gratifying that I didn’t even feel the need for my classic after-dinner chocolate hit – which in turn made me feel even more complacent.
I fully recommend that you try it as soon as you can.

Here’s the link to the Food Busker video, in case you are the audio-visual type.

Take note that, in the video, the Food Busker is indeed making another 2 recipes from the same cauliflower: the as-hip-as-it-gets Cauliflower Rice and the unheard of Cauliflower Pancakes. They both look amazing and I intend to give them a shot asap.

I think the Food Busker is my new idol.

P.S.: It may not be a good idea to serve this on a first date. The leftover breath is potent, to say the least.

Talk to me!

